Roger Hickman and Robert 'Biddy' Badenach inducted into Yachting Tasmania's Hall of Fame

  • Club
  • NEWS
  • By Jennifer Crooks
  • 25 Nov 2013 19:00:00

Yachting Tasmanian award winners for 2012-2013, left to right Sean Langman, Katherine Maher, Matt Bugg, Phillipa Calvert, Hugo Allison, Robert Eadie and Sam Tiedemann


Roger Hickman and Robert 'Biddy' Badenach, the Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race finish coordinator, were inducted into Yachting Tasmania's Hall of Fame with four others including Jenny Graney, the late Harry Neall "HN" Batt, Jeremy Firth and Nick Hutton.

Paralympic sailor Matt Bugg was named Yachting Tasmania's Male Sailor of the Year for 2012-2013, while the Female Sailor of the Year award went to champion Mirror dinghy sailors Jessie Atherton and Katherine Maher.

The prestigious Bennetto Medal for ocean racing was awarded to Sean Langman in recognition of his many and varied exploits on the ocean.

Yachting Tasmania president Ed Vincent presented the annual sailing awards and announced five new inductees into the Yachting Hall of Fame at Bellerive Yacht Club on 24 November.

Matt Bugg represented Australia in the 2.4mR class at the London 2012 Paralympic Games, finishing seventh.

Since then he has won his fourth consecutive Australian open championship and finished a close fourth in the International Federation of Disabled Sailors world championships in Ireland.

Jessie Atherton and Katherine Maher won their third open Mirror Dinghy Australian championship in Hobart in January. Their achievement was even more meritorious as Jessie had to sail the first championship race with a stand-in crew as Katherine was still competing in the Launceston to Hobart Yacht Race.

The Outstanding Youth Achievement Award went to Sam Tiedemann, 17, and Hugo Allison, 8, who last season crewed together to win the Australian championship in the International Cadet Class.

Tasmanian ocean racing legend, the late John Bennetto, sailed in 44 Sydney to Hobart Races between 1947 and 2004. This year's winner of the medal named in his honour, Sean Langman, is based in Sydney but has close ties to Tasmania.

His ocean racing achievements include sailing in 23 Rolex Sydney Hobarts, finishing second five times over the line as skipper of the maxi yachts Grundig, AAPT and Investec LOYAL.

Four of his races have been in the restored 81-year-old gaff rigged wooden yacht Maluka of Kermandie.

Langman this year has set world speed sailing records between Sydney-Hobart and Sydney-Auckland in his 60ft multihull Team Australia.

By Peter Campbell


  • Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race 2017 - Spirit of Yachting

  • CYCA Trophy Series Day 1 start

  • Video: Blue Water Pointscore Race 5 start - Bird Island


LATEST photos

  • Blue Water Pointscore Trophy Prize Giving

  • Rolex Sydney Hobart 2017 - Official Launch Party

  • Commodore's Stella Artois Beer and Prawn Night 2017