Spring Series Pointscore Decided

  • Racing
  • By Stacey French
  • 07 Sep 2015 10:00:00

Sea Rug Hoo Ha (Peter Howes) has taken out the Spring Series Division 2 Spinnaker Pointscore for the second consecutive year.

Winning the final race on Sunday ahead of Peach Teats Velocity (Brian Carrick) and Double Dutch (Phil Tanner), Howes was thrilled with the quinella on the back of winning the Jog Trophy (Division G) in the Land Rover Winter Series.

“The Spring Series has been fantastic, my crew have been consistent and amazing, all I really have to do is steer the boat,” Howes said. “I had the same crew for the Winter Series and they all stayed on which is always good.”

Double Dutch knew they had their work cut out for them heading into the final race of the series to chase down Sea Rug Hoo Ha for pointscore honours.

“We had to cover Sine Wave today to ensure we maintained our position and to have a shot at the pointscore,” Tanner said. “Sea Rug Hoo Ha was the boat that we had to beat by a bit to make up time but they pipped us by a couple of minutes.”

Double Dutch finished second in the pointscore with Sine Wave (Greg Mason and Barb Maunsell) rounding off the podium finishers. 

Racing a shortened course for race five, PRO Steve Kidson said the overcast conditions were challenge across all divisions.

“Division 1 got away in five to six knots and then it faded so that when Division 2 started it was down to three knots,” Kidson said. “It was very patchy until the breeze started coming in from the north as the boats rounded their respective top marks, but it dropped off again and proved a tough day for some, especially the slower cruisers.

“I did my best to get people back to the CYCA to enjoy the remainder of Father’s Day at the Sydney Hobart Bar.”

Back at the Club, Next (Phil Tomkins) was declared winner of Division 1 Spinnaker Pointscore with Howard Piggott’s Flying Cloud coming in second and Chancellor (Ted Tooher) finished third.

Next finished third in the last race of the series with John Markos and Michael Delaney (Eye Appeal) winning their first race of the series over Huntress (Philip Grove) who fell short of a pointscore podium finish. 

In Division 3 Non Spinnaker, Baltic Lady (Niel Burling) finished off the series with a win over HubCap II (Herman Heiligers) with Solveig II (Stuart McLean and David McLean) finishing third which was enough to secure divisional pointscore honours.

“This was our first Spring Series and we really enjoyed it, it was professional run and the courtesy between competitors was strong,” McLean said. “It was a largely uneventful series as there wasn’t a great deal of breeze on Sunday’s but this was a very positive outcome for us to come away with the pointscore win, we’ll definitely be signing up next season.”

Baltic Lady finished second in the pointscore followed by Astraea (Anne Lawson-Jones).

For full series results CLICK HERE

The 20th Monica Geddes Memorial Trophy will be held Sunday 13 September marking the start of the CYCA Summer Sailing Series CLICK HERE to enter.

Stacey French - CYCA Media


  • Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race 2017 - Spirit of Yachting

  • CYCA Trophy Series Day 1 start

  • Video: Blue Water Pointscore Race 5 start - Bird Island


LATEST photos

  • Blue Water Pointscore Trophy Prize Giving

  • Rolex Sydney Hobart 2017 - Official Launch Party

  • Commodore's Stella Artois Beer and Prawn Night 2017