CYCA Ocean Racer of the Year Awards open for nomination

  • Racing
  • NEWS
  • By Intern Marketing
  • 18 Jan 2017 10:23:00
©Andrea Francolini

2014 Winners Chris Rockell- Sally Gordon Crew Person, Roger Hickman- Ocean Racer, Jenifer Wells- Navigator, Past Commodore John Cameron, Phil Molony- Veteran, Martin Sheppard- Rookie, and Gordon Bray (MC for the presentation)


Nominations are now open in the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia’s prestigious Ocean Racer of the Year Awards. The CYCA welcomes nominations from fellow offshore clubs that have suitable candidates they feel would be eligible for these awards.

The presentation evening will be held on Friday 24 March 2017, during the Australian Yachting Championship, and will see the presentation of prize winners from the 2016 CYCA Blue Water Championship season, as well as the CYCA Ocean Racer of the Year Awards. The prestigious and highly sought after awards recognise recipients from the 2015 and 2016 sailing seasons in the following categories as nominated by their peers:

  • Ocean Racing Yachtsman of the Year
  • Sally Gordon Memorial Trophy for the Ocean Crew Person of the Year
  • Ocean Veteran of the Year
  • Ocean Rookie of the Year
  • Ocean Navigator of the Year

The awards were introduced in 1985 to recognise the outstanding achievements of yachtsmen and women Australia wide. Yacht owners and sailors are encouraged to nominate eligible individuals for the prestigious awards.

The Ocean Racer of the Year Award has gone to many of Australia’s most notable ocean racing skippers, starting with Tasmanian Don Calvert and including Victorians Gino Knezic and Lou Abrahams, and multiple winners Syd Fischer (four times), Matt Allen (twice), Bob Thomas (twice), Ed Psaltis (twice), Stephen Ainsworth (twice) and Roger Hickman (twice), after winning the award in 2014.

The Sally Gordon Memorial Trophy for Ocean Crew Person of the Year went to Chris Rockell in 2014. The Crew Person of the Year award was rededicated in 2010 in memory of Sally Gordon who lost her life in the CYCA’s Flinders Islet race (2009). Sally was a previous recipient of the award in 2000.

Phil Molony won the Ocean Veteran of the Year in 2014, with brothers and co-owners of Black Sheep, Derek and Martin Sheppard taking out the Ocean Rookie of the Year award. Jenifer Wells won the Navigator of the Year award, after taking out the Sally Gordon Memorial Trophy in the previous year.

The 2017 evening is a free event, and those attending must RSVP prior to Monday 20 March, via the here.

Further information regarding nominations and the applicable nomination periods, have been posted to respective Ocean Racing clubs, or are available on request from the Sailing Office.

Click here to view the past winners of the Ocean Racer of the Year Awards.


  • Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race 2017 - Spirit of Yachting

  • CYCA Trophy Series Day 1 start

  • Video: Blue Water Pointscore Race 5 start - Bird Island


LATEST photos

  • Ladies Day Race 1

  • Captain Cook Cruises Top Jocks

  • Blue Water Pointscore Trophy Prize Giving