Captain John Piper Match Racing Regatta

  • Youth
  • By Damian Maclennan
  • 15 Jun 2015 00:00:00

Race Report from Day One of the Captain John Piper Match Racing Regatta.

Murray Jones and his team of Ben Robinson, Brett Dixon and Felix Devario finished the first day of the regatta by losing only one race to Emma May.

The Captain John Piper Regatta is a two day match racing event with teams from the CYCA Youth Sailing Academy Advanced Squad. 

Competitors started the day in five knots which shifted later on providing a bit of a challenge.

Two round robins were completed with PRO Stephen Merrington deciding to make the most of the nice weather with an additional two flights in a third round robin.

Finishing the day on equal points were the teams skippered by Emma May and Caitlin Tames. 

Tara Blanc-Ramos and Angus Williams used this regatta to sail together in the lead up to Governor’s Cup to be held in California in mid-July. 

All of the Advanced Squad have been taking advantage of extra midweek training sessions and are looking forward to competing in the Club Marine NSW Youth State Championship to be held at the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia in August.

The winter regatta days are an essential part of the Advanced Squad syllabus and put our sailors well ahead of the teams from other clubs for state and national events which are coming up in the next few months in Sydney, Perth and Southport. 

The squad is very grateful to Dean Harrigan for his sponsorship of the Captain John Piper Regatta.

Debbie Wilson - YSA


Results after day one:

Murray Jones, Ben Robinson, Brett Dixon & Felix Devario     7 - 1

Emma May, Alex South, Katherine Shannon & Rosie Lee      4 - 4

Lauren Gallaway, Annalise Gilbert, Charlie Gundy & Jeronimo Harrison    1 - 7

Caitlin Tames, Tara Blanc-Ramos, Angus Williams & Nick Thyne        4 – 4




  • Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race 2017 - Spirit of Yachting

  • CYCA Trophy Series Day 1 start

  • Video: Blue Water Pointscore Race 5 start - Bird Island


LATEST photos

  • Ladies Day Race 1

  • Captain Cook Cruises Top Jocks

  • Blue Water Pointscore Trophy Prize Giving